Matcha Cups

Last Friday I had a very productive day.  I worked, did some hot yoga and then as the house became quiet, the cats curled up for their naps I headed to the kitchen with matcha in my hand.

Matcha green tea

Matcha is green tea ground up into this powder.  All the great benefits you’ve heard about green tea pertains to this green matcha X10 because you are consuming the whole leaf!! I’ve done a bit of reading and matcha is super high in antioxidants, it boosts your metabolism, detoxifies the body and replenishes your red blood cells due to its high chlorophyll content.   Because matcha is highly concentrated green tea it also increases mental alertness and is super energizing!  Drinking matcha in the morning is a great alternative to coffee since it gives you that boost of energy you need in the morning, is low cal and is super healthy for you!  Click here to learn more about matcha.

Anyway, that is my little blurb about the wonders of matcha.  Last Friday I decided drinking matcha wasn’t enough I wanted to eat matcha! I started with a basic yellow cupcake recipe, one that didn’t require a lot of flour so my cupcakes would turn out nice and fluffy and moist.  I began mixing and mixing and singing to Bob Marley, and mixing…

Image

I added only one teaspoon of matcha powder to the cupcake mix and voila! I put them in the oven for about 20 minutes and I had the greatest cupcake ever.  It wasn’t too earthy as matcha tends to have a very strong earthly vegetal flavour, therefore I only added one teaspoon no more no less.  Also, I made sure there was vanilla flavouring in the recipe I chose to add a nice sweetness to the matcha flavour.

But wait there’s more!

I made matcha icing!

1 cup of icing sugar

2 tablespoons of butter

1 teaspoon of vanilla

splash of milk

1/2 teaspoon of matcha powder

This is a rough estimate as I usually mix all these ingredients together until I get the right icing consistency.  After I made the icing, let the cupcakes cool down I began to spread the icing over the cupcakes and then they were ready to eat.

Image

And what better way to enjoy a matcha cupcake than with matcha tea on the side!

MMMMM MATCHA!

 

Let’s be friends:

Mango Studios Twitter Mango Studios Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Matcha Cups

Leave a Reply

