Pumpkin Chai Cupcakes

More pumpkin you might ask? But of course, pumpkin and cupcakes just go so well together…and if it couldn’t get any better I added tea to the cupcakes to make a pumpkin chai tea infused cupcake!

It all started with my sweet tooth.  I have a little one in my mouth that occasionally craves sweet things here and there.  And of course, when I have these hankerings I need to start baking my own concoctions in the kitchen.  Sometimes this can go very bad and only my dog will eat what I’ve created and sometimes I end up making a chocolate chip cake with Bailey’s whip cream on top!  Mmm that was a good cake.

However, this time I followed a recipe.  Not just any old recipe but a TEA INFUSED recipe that I found on Facebook, with my favourite ingredient right now…PUMPKIN!

Pumpkin Chai Cupcakes.  Yes.  They exist.  I was on Facebook of all places and found this GREAT recipe on the DavidsTea page.

This is one of those recipes that turned out amazing.  I happened to have almost every ingredient already in my kitchen, except for apple cider vinegar, which I substituted rice vinegar for.  And there are no eggs! Weird huh?  This was my first time making cupcakes with no eggs so I was a little nervous they wouldn’t turn out, but they were excellent.

They have such a unique flavour especially because there is no real pumpkin in them but tea infused pumpkin flavouring instead.  The extra cinnamon and vanilla adds so much flavour to them, I’ve never had anything that tastes similar.  And the way you add the tea is totally different than any other baking recipe.  In a pot over the stove I simmered a cup and a quarter of milk and 6 teaspoons (4 perfect David spoons) of the pumpkin chai tea.

When the milk was hot I turned the stove top all the way to min and let the mixture steep for about 10 minutes before adding it to the rest of the ingredients.

The recipe made about 24 mini cupcakes.  The next day I tried making the regular sized ones and the recipe only made about 12 cupcakes.  However, I found that if I wanted to bake a second batch I could re-steep the mixture but for a longer time, maybe 15-20 minutes, before adding it to the rest of the ingredients again.  This may sound like there wouldn’t be enough flavour left in the tea, but there definitely was!  Also, if you don’t want to make a second batch, re-use that tea in the pot!  There is still lots of flavour left in the tea and if you re-steep it with milk again you have yourself a cup of pumpkin chai tea milk!  Which is absolutely indulgently delicious!  I definitely had a cup of pumpkin milk or two after baking the first mini batch.  MMMM!

I finished them off with pink vanilla icing and pumpkin seeds.

Happy Tea Baking!

 

Let’s be friends:

Mango Studios Twitter Mango Studios Pinterest

One thought on “Pumpkin Chai Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

