Hemp Milk-Tea Infused Smoothie

Today I have to say that I made the most delicious pre volleyball smoothie.  It of course included tea.  I was inspired by the lack of food in my kitchen and the recent non-tea smoothies I’ve been making.  This summer my boyfriend and I had dinner at this Vegan spot called Raw Aura in Port Credit and ordered a hemp milk chocolate smoothie after our meal.  It was amazing because it was such a different flavour and was the perfect thing to top off our deceptively delicious dinner.

I’ve been making my own hemp milk infused smoothies for the past week or so because I found out how amazing hemp milk is for you and I had a great tasting experience when I had that smoothie.  Initially I started looking for hemp milk in just a regular grocery store but found nothing but almond milk. I’m pretty sure that you can purchase it at Whole Foods, but I also ended up finding it at Bulk Barn.  Hemp milk is very high in omega-3, has all 10 essential amino acids and contains 26-31% pure protein which is great for a vegetarian like me!  Also, it helps promote healthy menstruation!  There are many other uses of hemp that are beneficial to the body, those are just to name a few.  I also put hemp seeds on my cereal in the morning for extra goodness!

Hemp milk has sort of a nutty flavour to it, I’ve been making these smoothies for about a week now and today I decided to add some tea and it is even better!  This smoothie is for those chocolate banana lovers out there and I find the hemp flavour adds to the perfect combination of chocolate banana nuttiness!

How to make a Hemp Milk-Tea Infused Smoothie:

Ingredients:

1 cup of chocolate hemp milk

1-2 frozen bananas

a handful of fresh dates without the seeds (I used dried dates and it did not work as well)

1 tsp of cocoa powder (for extra chocolate flavour!)

2 tsp of your favourite Mate tea (I went with my go-t0 Mattechino tea)

4-5 ice cubes (more ice cubes if banana isn’t frozen)

First, you must steep your tea for the appropriate amount of time (in this case 4-7 minutes).  I always use The Magic Steeper when I’m making some sort of creative tea recipe to eliminate extra dishes.  Once the tea has steeped, go ahead and pour it in the blender along with the other ingredients and blend it on high until everything looks all mixed up!  If the smoothie doesn’t seem cold enough add more ice cubes or let it sit in the fridge for a bit until you’re ready to drink it.  When all the ingredients have been mixed well together, pour into a glass and ENJOY!

Don’t worry about being too precise with this recipe as I just added a little bit of this and little bit of that here and there until I get the taste that I want.  You’ll love this smoothie in the morning as it will give you lots of good nutrients and the energy to start off your day!

Happy Hemping!

Let’s be friends:

Mango Studios Twitter Mango Studios Pinterest

Leave a Reply

